Remote Sensing Specialty Group 2005 Business Meeting Agenda Wednesday, April 6, 2005 Denver

- 1. The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Tim Warner (West Virginia University).
- 2. The minutes of the 2004 meeting (distributed by email, and also available on the RSSG website, www.aagrssg.org) were approved as read.
- 3. The Treasurer, Monika Moskal, Southwest Missouri State, presented the 2004/2005 budget. As of 2/28/05 the RSSG had a balance of \$3,191.45. Over the past year the group had a number of major expenses related to the celebrations for the AAG centennial. However, the strong growth in membership ensured a rapid recovery of a relatively healthy reserve.
- 4. Announcement of Awards.
 - a. The Outstanding Contributions Award was presented to John Townshend (University of Maryland) by the Honors Committee Chair, Doug Stow (San Diego State University).
 - b. The Honors Committee Chair, Doug Stow, announced that there would be no Early Career Award made for 2005. Although four excellent papers were received, the reviewers suggested that none of the papers were ready for publication. A general discussion followed regarding the possibility of adapting the award process. For example, the name might be changed to the Early Career Outstanding Paper Award, to represent the award more accurately. The time table might also be adjusted to provide a longer period for review and possible corrections of the submitted papers.
 - c. The student awards were made by the Student co-Director, Christine Erlien, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

2005 RSSG Student Honors Paper Competition Winners

First Place

Qi Chen, University of California Berkeley, *Isolating Individual Trees in a Savanna Woodland Using Small Footprint LIDAR Data*.

Second Place

Lei Wang, Texas A & M University, Wavelet-transform Based Edge Detection Approach to Derivation of Snowmelt Information from Satellite Passive Microwave Measurements.

Third Place

Xin Miao. University of California Berkeley, *Estimation of Yellow Starthistle Cover through CASI-2 Hyperspectral Imagery Using Linear Spectral Mixture Models*. Undergraduate Award

Christopher Lippitt, Clark University, *Timber Harvest: A Comparison of Machine Learning Classifiers*.

2005 Cartography/GIS/RSSG Student Illustrated Paper Competition Winners

First Place

Stephen David Gardner, Pennsylvania State University, *Map-Use Testing of the Color Brewer Color Schemes for Accommodation of the Color-Vision* **Impaired.** Second Place

Jian Liu, University Of Wisconsin, Mapping with Words for Knowledge-based Natural Resource Mapping.

Third Place (Tie)

Shuo-Sheng Derek Wu, Texas State University, An Improved Dasymetric Mapping Method for Remodeling Census Populations.

Amy Norman, University of Texas at Austin, Multi-temporal Characterization of Land Use/Land Cover in Iquitos, Peru.

Undergraduate

Michelle Roy, Salem State College, Change in NDVI Over Australian Land Cover from 1999 to 2003.

- d. The Geospatial Technologies for Watershed Management Student Awards were announced by Monika Moskal, Southwest Missouri State.
- 5. In the Chairs Report for 2004/2005, Tim Warner (West Virginia University) reported on six major areas of accomplishments by the RSSG:
 - a. The RSSG has experienced a 50% growth in membership, to 748 members, after over a decade of relatively static membership at approximately 500 members.
 - b. The RSSG web site, <u>www.aagrssg.org</u>, is growing in content. The site acts as a virtual office, and includes a newsletter archive, as well as an archive of recent reports.
 - c. Two newsletters have been published in each of the past 2 years, thanks to consistent efforts by Newsletter and Website Editor John Althausen (Leica Geosystems).
 - d. An RSSG list service is now being run through the AAG head office. The advantage of the new list serve is that new RSSG members are automatically added to the distribution list by the AAG, and that the individual member can control the frequency that information is sent out by the list serve. One concern, however, is that relatively little traffic from RSSG members has appeared on the site.
 - e. New RSSG Outstanding Contributions Award medallions are being ordered. A mockup of the new medallion was shown at the meeting.
 - f. Tim Warner also reviewed the activities from the 2004 centennial, including the special reception for past outstanding contributions award winners, and the special issue of *Geocarto International* recognizing the work of RSSG members.

On a personal note, Tim Warner thanked all those who had helped him greatly during his two years as Chair, including RSSG officers Vice Chair Doug Ramsey, Student Directors Theresa Burcsu and Chris Erhlien, Web and Newsletter Editor John Althausen, Directors Kelly Crews-Meyer, Joe Messina, and Jane Read, Secretary/Treasurers Monika Moskal and Michael Emch, Honors Committee chairs Steve Walsh and Doug Stow, as well as members Duane Nellis and Jim Merchant and Kam Lulla.

- 6. 2005 RSSG Program Chair, George Raber (University of Southern Mississippi), reported that a total of 29 paper and poster sessions were sponsored by the RSSG and its members
- 7. Tim Warner, on behalf of John Althausen (Leica Geosystems), gave a report on the newsletter and website. Two outstanding newsletters were distributed this last year. The newsletter is now distributed only in PDF format via the list serve and website, thus saving considerable publishing and mailing costs. A major issue for the newsletter editor is to obtain sufficient material from members. Although members naturally tend to be reticent to report on their own work, such material was strongly encouraged. The newsletter and website are crucial for maintaining contact with the membership and for sustaining the recent growth the group has experienced.

8. Elections of officers:

- a. Vice-Chair (2005-2007) Kelley Crews Meyer (University of Texas at Austin)
- b. RSSG Director (2005-2007) Phil Keating (Indiana University)
- c. 2006 (Chicago) Program Chair (2005-2006) Joe Messina (Michigan State University)
- d. Web/Newsletter editor (2005-2006) John Althausen (Leica Geosystems)
- e. Student Co-Directors (2005-2006) Jonathan Thayn (University of Kansas) and Kelley O'Neal (University of Maryland)
- f. Honors Committee Chair (2005-2006) Doug Stow (San Diego State University)

9. Other business.

- a. Tim Warner reported that the bylaws had not been amended since they were written in 1981 by John Jensen. There appeared to be a number of areas where the bylaws need to be amended to codify current practices more explicitly. It was suggested that this item be passed to the new RSSG executive.
- b. In planning for the AAG conference in Chicago in 2006, members were urged to consider submitting poster, or illustrated poster papers. It was suggested that the program director for Chicago consider mentioning this in the material soliciting papers in the fall.
 - Alternative times for the RSSG business meetings were discussed, and rejected as not being convenient.
 - Members were asked to consider what journals they might like the AAG to consider trying to get discounts for AAG members for.
 - Kelly Crews Meyer suggested that we ask the AAG if it were possible to ensure that the student honors sessions does not conflict with other RSSG sessions.

- c. Tim Warner reported that the NGA is planning to discontinue the public availability of aeronautical charts. Members were directed to the recent newsletter for the address to send comments.
- d. Dale Quattrochi queried the role of the RSSG directors. The directors have in the past taken on the task of a publications committee. Tim Warner suggested that this could be codified in the revised bylaws. Dale Quattrochi was asked to work with the directors in perhaps editing another special issue of Geocarto International on the RSSG members' work, if the editors of that journal are agreeable.

10. Close

Monika Moskal Secretary/Treasurer