Remote Sensing Specialty Group 2004 Business Meeting Minutes Friday March 18, 2004 Philadelphia

- 1. Tim Warner (West Virginia University) called the meeting to order.
- 2. The 2003 minutes from the New Orleans meeting (distributed by email, and also available on the RSSG website, www.aagrssg.org) were approved unanimously.
- 3. Michael Emch (Portland State University), RSSG Treasurer, reported on the SG's finances. Before the Philadelphia AAG Meeting, the SG had approximately \$6000. The revenue that the SG will gain during 2004-05 depends on the membership and expenditures during the Philadelphia meetings. Michael Emch also reported that he would not be standing for reelection as RSSG Secretary/Treasurer.
- 4. In the Chairs Report for 2003/2004, Tim Warner (West Virginia University) reported on five major areas of accomplishments by the RSSG:
 - i. A URL has been purchased (aagrssg.org) and the website moved to this new site.
 - ii. Two newsletters were published over the past year, thanks to the work of John Althausen (Salem State University).
 - iii. The email list serve was updated by Jim Merchant, and members can subscribe or unsubscribe through the aagrssg.org website.
 - iv. The group started a new award this year, the Early Career Award. The RSSG thus has a comprehensive suite of awards to students for research papers and posters (six awards in total), early career scientists, and senior members (the Outstanding Contributions Award).
 - v. In honor of the centennial of the AAG, a number of important events and activities were organized. Kelley Crews-Meyer (University of Texas) organized a reception for past winners of the RSSG Outstanding Contributions Award. A special issue of *Geocarto International* is being published, with Tim Warner, Duane Nellis, Doug Stow and Kam Lulla as editors. The same group also prepared a poster on the RSSG for the AAG Hall of History exhibit. Joe Messina contributed material related to remote sensing to the Geography in America Timeline.
- 5. Theresa Burcsu (RSSG Student Director, University of Florida) announced the winners of the RSSG sponsored paper awards.

There were two competitions, the Student Honors Paper competition, sponsored solely by the RSSG, and the co-sponsored Cartography/GIS/RSSG Student Illustrated Paper competition. The Honors Paper competition comprised 13 students and spanned three sessions. The Illustrated Paper competition also had 13 students and spanned two sessions. Both competitions had a good mixture of students from all levels. Thanks to all of the judges and attendees of the competitions. Their support was key to the success of the program.

2004 RSSG Student Honors Paper Competition Winners

First Place

Elena Tarnavsky - San Diego State University

Presentation Title: Fidelity of Scanned and Direct Digital Imagery in a Land-cover Change Context

Second Place

Qinghua Guo - University of California Berkeley

Presentation Title: An object-based classification method in detecting Sudden Oak Death

Third Place

Claudia M. Stickler - University of Florida

Presentation Title: /Predicting the Complexity of Primate Habitat Selection in Kibale National Park, Western Uganda, Using Multi-scale Spatial Analysis and Remote Sensing

Undergraduate Award

Christopher Lippitt - Clark University

Presentation Title: A method to distinguish real landscape change from map error during map comparison

2004 Cartography/GIS/RSSG Student Illustrated Paper Competition Winners

First Place

Erik Strandhagen - University of Oregon

Presentation Title: Views of the Rivers; Representing Hydrological data of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem

Second Place

Carl J. Legleiter - University of California Santa Barbara

Presentation Title: Remote mapping and geostatistical analysis of river channel morphology and change in Yellowstone National Park

Third Place

Christopher Zanger - Oregon State University

Presentation Title: Ecoregion delineation: Using a GIS to identify and model the dominant ecoregion variables in Southern Oregon Northern California

- 6. The RSSG gave Theresa Burcsu (RSSG Student Director) a round of applause for her effort as Student Director.
- 7. The winners of the 2004 AAG RSSG Outstanding Contributions Award were Nina Lam (Louisiana State University) and Doug Stow (San Diego State University). The Honors Committee was chaired by Steve Walsh, University of North Carolina, with additional members Dale Quattrochi (NASA), Kelley Crews-Meyer (University of Texas at Austin), Dan Brown (University of Michigan) and Ling Bian (SUNY Buffalo).

- 8. The winner of the RSSG Early Career Award was Dr. Bing Xu of Texas State University for the paper, *Snail density prediction for Schistosomiasis control using IKONOS and ASTER images.* The paper has been provisionally accepted for publication in *Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing.* The runner up was Dr. Soe Myint, University of Oklahoma, for the paper, *Examining lacunarity approaches in comparison with fractal and spatial autocorrelation techniques for urban mapping.* The committee was chaired by Tim Warner, with additional committee members Jim Merchant (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) and Doug Stow (San Diego State).
- 9. 2004 RSSG Program Chair's Report (Jerry Griffith, University of Southern Mississippi): The 2004 Programs were very successful. There were 20 RSSG-sponsored paper sessions (106 papers), 8 other collaborative sessions with other SGs, 3 student paper sessions, 2 illustrated paper competitions, and 2 student paper competitions.
- 10. Report by newsletter editor and website organizer (John Althausen, Salem State College). The SG has a new URL- http://www.aagrssg.org. Please submit material to John. We have plenty of space. The membership agreed that the newsletter should be published only as PDF documents in the future to save approximately \$300 per issue four times per year. Jim Merchant has updated the RSSG newsletter distribution list. People can subscribe and unsubscribe to the RSSG listsery by following the directions on the RSSG website.
- 11. Director Kelley Crews-Meyer (University of Texas at Austin) reported on the reception in honor of past outstanding award winners. The SG thanks the geography departments at Michigan State University and the University of Texas, as well as the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences at West Virginia University, for their generous contributions for the reception.

12. Election of officers:

- i. Secretary/ Treasurer L. Monika Moskal, Southwest Missouri State University.
- ii. RSSG Director- Jane Reed, Syracuse University.
- iii. 2005 Program Chair (Denver) George Raber (with help from Jerry Griffith) University of Southern Mississippi.
- iv. Student Director Chris Erlien, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
- v. Honors Committee Chair Doug Stow, San Diego State Universit.y

13. Other Business:

- i. Need new Outstanding Contribution Award medals (Only 5 left; Bob Holz did the last ones). A suggestion was made to get new ones struck so that there is consistency through the years.
- ii. Planning for 2005 field trips in Denver. If anyone has ideas they should forward them to the 2005 Program Chair
- iii. The members send their condolences to Dale Quattrochi (NASA Marshall Space Flight Center) whose wife died two weeks before the AAG meetings.
- iv. The members send their condolences to Merrill Ridd (University of Utah) whose wife died during the fall of 2003.